Swiss Cancer ResearchAbout usScientific CommitteeAbout us

Scientific Committee

The Committee in April 2022 (from left to right): Nicola Aceto, Joerg Huelsken, Pedro Romero, Andrea Alimonti, Carlotta Sacerdote, Nancy Hynes (President), Jörg Beyer, Manuel Stucki, Francesco Bertoni, Aurel Perren, Mark Rubin, Markus Joerger. Missing: Corinne Bergelt, Andreas Boss, Stefan Michiels, Sophie Pautex, Tatiana Petrova, Lukas Sommer, Alexandre Theocharides

The Scientific Committee members review all requests for funding submitted by researchers to Swiss Cancer Research and its partner organization, the Swiss Cancer League. The Committee evaluates the research funding requests according to clearly defined criteria. The focus is always on whether the research projects have the potential to yield new knowledge on the prevention, development or treatment of cancer. In addition, the Committee ensures high scientific quality by assessing, for example, the originality and feasibility of the research projects - and recommends only the best for funding.

The 19 members of the Scientific Committee are recognized experts with outstanding scientific records of accomplishment. They are elected for a term of three years and can be re-elected twice. The Committee covers all research areas relevant to cancer research.


Prof. Dr. med. Mark A. Rubin
Department of BioMedical Research (DBMR)
Universität Bern
Murtenstrasse 35
3008 Bern


PD Dr. med. Alexandre P. A. Theocharides
UniversitätsSpital Zürich
Klinik für Medizinische Onkologie und Hämatologie
Rämistrasse 100
8091 Zürich

Prof. Dr. med. Andrea Alimonti
ETH Professor of Experimental Oncology
Università' della Svizzera Italiana
Institute of Oncology Research
ERC Inverstigator, EMBO YIP
Via F. Chiesa 5
6500 Bellinzona

Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Boss
Institut für Radiologie und Nuklearmedizin
GZO Spital Wetzikon
Spitalstrasse 66
8620 Wetzikon

Prof. Dr. med. Aurel Perren
Institut für Pathologie
Universität Bern
Murtenstrasse 31
3012 Bern

Dr. med. Carlotta Sacerdote
Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria (AOU) 
Città della Salute e della Scienza di Torino 
SC Epidemiologia dei Tumori CRPT U 
Via Santena 7
I-10126 Torino

Prof. Dr. phil. Corinna Bergelt
Universitätsmedizin Greifswald
Institut für Medizinische Psychologie
Walther-Rathenau-Strasse 48
D-17475 Greifswald

Prof. Dr. med. Daniel Rudolf Zwahlen
Kantonsspital Winterthur
Department of Radiation Oncology
Brauerstrasse 15
8401 Winterthur

Prof. Dr. med. Francesco Bertoni
Institute of Oncology Research
Faculty of Biomedical Sciences, USI
via F. Chiesa 5
6500 Bellinzona

Prof. Dr. Joerg Huelsken
Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
1015 Lausanne

Prof. Dr. sc. nat. Lukas Sommer
Universität Zürich (UZH)
Anatomisches Institut  
Winterthurerstrasse 190
8057 Zürich

Prof. Dr. Manuel Stucki
Klinik für Gynäkologie
UniversitätsSpital Zürich (USZ)
Wagistrasse 14
8952 Schlieren

Prof. Dr. med. et rer. nat. Markus Joerger
Onkologie / Hämatologie
Kantonsspital St. Gallen
Rorschacher Strasse 95
9007 St. Gallen

Prof. Mikael Pittet
Université de Genève (UNIGE)
Departement of Pathology and Immunology
Rue du Général-Dufour 24
1211 Genève

Prof. Dr. Nicola Aceto 
ETH Zürich
Departement Biologie
Otto-Stern-Weg 7
8093 Zürich

Prof. Dr. med. Sophie Pautex
Département de réadaptation et gériatrie
Service de médecine palliative
Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève (HUG)
11 chemin de la Savonnière
1245 Collonge-Bellerive

Dr. Stefan Michiels
Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology
Oncostat Team CESP, INSERM, University Paris-Saclay
Gustave Roussy, B2M RDC
CESP Centre de recherche en épidémiologie et santé des populations
114 rue Edouard Vaillant
F-94805 Villejuif Cedex

Prof. Dr. Tatiana Petrova
Department of Fundamental Oncology
CHUV and University of Lausanne
Chemin des Boveresses 155
1066 Epalinges

Prof. Sven Rottenberg
University of Bern
Departement for Infectious Diseases and Pathobiology
Länggassstrasse 122
3012 Bern